Nick Allen of Litmus Green talks wax and what gets him stoked!

Hey Matt!

Most of my vinyl lives at work with me since I don’t have a turntable of my own. Really must correct that in the near future. I’m using an Audio-Technica AT-PL120 through a set of Yamaha NS-10’s. It should be noted that my turntable is rocking a sweet Record Store Day mat featuring Mike D from the Beastie Boys that I got from Amoeba a few years ago.

Image

At home I stream my music digitally through my Apple TV to a Harmon Kardon AVR 1565 which is then connected to a pair of Infinity speakers. The AVR 1565 is not a dedicated audio receiver but I love the way it sounds. Makes me want to come home and listen to music all the time.Image

Records I’m into right now:

Bad Religion LP box set – Can’t go wrong listening to Bad Religion. I can probably recite the words to just about every song.
Image

Propagandhi “How To Clean Everything” – Awesome record.

Image

Less Than Jake “Borders And Boundaries” – This is the record that got me into LTJ so I totally discovered their records out of order. Every time I’d get a new one it would become the soundtrack to my life. I told Vinnie that when I met him and I immediateley thought “why the fuck did I just say that?”. He was super cool about it though.

Image

Nothington “Roads, Bridges And Ruins” – This is my favorite from these guys but their other two are great too. Solid songwriting and a solid live show. After seeing them open for Lagwagon I was convinced I needed a Telecaster. I fucking love my Telecaster – which is appropriately adorned with a Nothington sticker.

Image

Menzingers “On The Impossible Past” – Amazing record. Had a chance to catch them live supporting the Bouncing Soles a few months ago and I thought they stole the show. Favorite tunes: “Good Things”, “The Obituaries”, “Mexican Guitars”, “Casey”, “Gates”, and “I Can’t Seem To Tell”

Image

The Holy Mess “Cande Ru Las Degas” – I’ve seriously been listening to this record a couple of times a day. “Within The Range Of A Raven” and “The Saddest Girl To Ever Hold A Martini” are awesome tunes. If the Menzingers, Nothington and The Holy Mess toured together I would seriously consider quitting my job and going to every show.

Image

Broadway Calls “S/T” – These guys opened the Bouncing Soles /  Menzingers show and I only caught the last couple of songs. I wasn’t sure how I felt about them until they played “Back To Oregon”. That made me listen to their other records when I got home.

Image

Riverboat Gamblers “The Wolf You Feed” – The opening tracks on this record pull you right in: “Good Veins”, “Bite My Tongue” and “Comedians”. We bowled with these guys at Punk Rock Bowling this year and they’re really cool dudes as well. I keep meaning to overdub my skydiving video with “Don’t Bury Me… I’m Still Not Dead Yet” from one of their earlier albums – “To The Confusion Of Our Enemies”.

Image

Majorelle “Process Colors” – This record reminds me of the local LA punk I grew up listening to. My favorites are “White Noise”, “Enchantment Under The Sea Dance” and “Flying Colors”.
Image

Off With Their Heads “In Desolation” – I love the fury of “Trying to Breathe” and “Clear The Air”. I saw them last year for the first time with my friend Jordan and I really want to catch them again now that I’m more familiar with their songs.

Image

The Gaslight Anthem “Handwritten” – Recommended listening: “Mulholland Drive” and “45”.

Image

 

 

Cheers!

Nick

Leave a Reply

