JR Hayes (Pig Destroyer vox) talks influences and recommends some tunes.

 

 

Love this Spirit of St. Louis turntable/cd/cassette combo. A birthday present from my Grandma many many years ago.

Image

At first I thought this was just a decent collection of “lost” tracks, then I realized that it one of his finest albums. soul sleaze anthems from the most soulful white boy around.

Image

I’ve probably listened to Lou Reed more than any other artist. I don’t know if I can give higher praise than that. A killer album in a long, long list of killer albums.

Image

Grind/hardcore band from Ft. Smith Arkansas. Angry and punk as fuck. The 7″ on Slap a Ham is also essential.

Image

Speaking of Slap a Ham, here’s a crucial split of power violence royalty. Maybe I’m a little biased being a VA boy, but Suppression deserve waaaaaay more recognition. One of my favorite bands from that era.

Image

Classic debut from the smooth talking NOLA MC. The title track alone is worth the price of admission.

Image

Post moody hardcore from DC, kind of like a crankier Fugazi. One of my favorite Dischord releases.

Image

Mean, pulverizing grind from NOLA. Thanks to the Priapus boys for turning me on to this band! This shit is so sick!

Image

This New Zealand band has been writing great songs for decades. If you even kind of like indie rock or lo-fi, then meet your new best friends.

Image

Bulldozing metallic hardcore from Germany. Sort of like Rorshach’s “Protestant” LP sprinkled with “essence of Hanneman”.

Image

I am just in awe of this band. The Nachos make other hardcore bands sound like a bunch of little sissies. Feel the hate.

Image

New Pig Destoyer album “Book Burner” out now via Relapse Records on CD and LP.

Image

Leave a Reply

